You are currently viewing What is CAT exam?| Eligibility Criteria| All Details

What is the CAT exam?

Candidates preparing for CAT (Common Admission Test), is a computer-based test conducted in India by the Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs). The CAT exam is conducted annually by one of the IIMs based on a policy of rotation. The CAT Exam works as a prerequisite to taking admission into prestigious management institutes in India.

CAT is conducted in three sessions every year, on the last Sunday of November.
The CAT Exam consists of 3 sections:

  • Verbal Ability and Reading Comprehension (VARC)
  • Data Interpretation and Logical Reasoning (DII-LR)
  • Quantitative Ability (QA)


Indian Institutes of Management (IIMs)

IIMs are considered India’s premier national institutes providing quality management education and research. IIMs primarily offer postgraduate, Doctorial, and executive education programs. The flagship program of IIMs is the two-year post-graduate program. These two-year programs are residential. The Fellow / Doctoral Programme in Management (FPM) is a full-time doctoral level program in management, leading to the award of a Ph.D. The Executive Post Graduate programs are targeted at working professionals.

Admission to the two-year postgraduate programs in IIMs is based on merit and involves a rigorous selection process comprising of a Personal Interview, Written Ability Test/Group Discussions, and scores in the Common Admission Test which is commonly known as CAT. CAT is a management aptitude test conducted by the IIMs primarily to evaluate and shortlist candidates for the post-graduate program. It is a computer-based exam and a candidate has to follow the due process of registering to appear for this exam conducted once a year.

As per Government of India norms, IIMs reserve 15% seats for SC candidates, 7.5% seats for ST candidates, 27% seats for NC-OBC candidates, and up to 10% seats for EWS candidates. 5% seats are also reserved for Persons with Benchmark Disabilities. IIMs also provide scholarships to deserving students who need financial support.

The Indian Institutes of Management are leading institutions providing management education in India with the older IIMs having been established more than 50 years ago. Today, there are 20 IIMs established in different parts of India.



The detailed CAT Eligibility 2022 is explained here for CAT 2022 exam aspirants. The eligibility for the CAT exam hasn’t changed for the past several years and this year will be no different. Before starting with the preparation, candidates need to know the complete CAT 2022 eligibility criteria to understand whether they are eligible for CAT or not.

CAT Eligibility 2022

Age Limit For CAT None
Educational Eligibility Graduate
Work Experience None
Minimum Marks in Graduation 50% (45% for Reserved Category)
Reservation As per Category


Academic Qualification

Qualification Required Affiliation Required Pass Percentage


Engineering Degree – B.Tech/ B.E. Recognized by MHRD/AICTE * 50% (45% for SC, ST, PWD candidates)
Bachelor’s Degree from any University


Recognized by UGC 50% (45% for SC, ST, and PWD candidates)
Students who are in their final year of Bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) are also eligible to take the CAT Exam** Continuing graduation from University Recognized by MHRD/AICTE or UGC 50% (45% for SC, ST, PWD candidates)
  • The University has to be declared incorporated by an Act of the Parliament or State legislature in India or declared as deemed to be a University under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956.
  • Such candidates have to submit a certificate from the Registrar / Principal of their respective institution or University. The certificate must state that they have completed all the requirements for obtaining the equivalent qualification on the date of the issue of the certificate.


It should be noted that the percentage an individual obtains in a bachelor’s degree would be calculated based on the practice followed by the concerned institution (or University). If a percentage conversion scheme is unavailable for a particular University, the candidate’s CGPA will be divided by the maximum possible CGPA and multiplied the result by 100.

Important Points Regarding CAT Registration 2022 with Backlogs

There are some important points highlighted here that CAT applicants with backlogs are suggested to read through to clear any doubts they may have.

  • CAT 2022 is open to candidates who have completed their Bachelor’s degree but have a backlog.
  • Candidates who are taking supplementary re-examinations are also eligible to apply for CAT.
  • Any aspirant who has scored more than 50% (45% for reserved category) in graduation (including supplementary re-exams) is eligible to apply for CAT 2022.
  • In the CAT 2022 registration form, answer “Yes” to the question “Are you in the final year of your Bachelor’s degree?”.
  • Candidates must produce a certificate from the Principal/Registrar of the University (or college) stating that they have taken supplementary re-examination and are awaiting results.
  • Candidates from reserved categories should check their eligibility properly before applying and attach a copy of their caste certificate during the registration process. It should be mentioned that after finishing the registration process, IIMs do not allow students to change their caste.

Reservation Details

The IIMs have included some reservations for the different category students applying for any of the business administration programs. The reservation details of the IIMs are explained below in a comprehensive way.

Category Reserved Percentage
SC (Scheduled Caste) 15%
ST (Scheduled Tribe) 7.5%
NC-OBC (Non-creamy Other Backward Classes) 27%
Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) up to 10%
PWD (Person With Disability) 5%

It should be noted that the candidates belonging to any of the above-mentioned castes are required to upload the caste certificate during registration and carry a photocopy of it during document verification.

In the case of PWD category students, they must bring a PWD certificate issued by a competent authority. The different categories of disabilities that are accepted under PWD reservation are the individuals with:

  • Blindness or partial blindness,
  • Hearing disabilities
  • Locomotor disabilities (dwarfism, muscular dystrophy, cerebral palsy, leprosy cured, and acid attack victims),
  • Other disabilities like autism, any mental illness, intellectual disabilities, learning disabilities, etc.

PWD candidates are suggested to go through Section 39 of the PWD Act, 1995 to check the list of all disabilities under this category. Candidates applying for the PWD category should have at least 40% of disability as certified by any medical authority.

For more such updates visit


Leave a Reply